The story behind the ‘barn …

It is only fair that I give some “advertising” to the place whose picture I used to “represent”, at least figuratively, my APBA ‘barn ….

jims-apple-farm

When I was trying to come up with a “creative” name (not that it really is all that creative) for my new APBA Blog site, I was attempting to come up with something that had a ring to it, was different, and maybe people would have an easier time remembering.  I also wanted to have a “photo-image” which would go with the title I created.  Also, with my renewed interest in the APBA American Saddle Racing Game, I figured a “Barn” would be a nice touch.  I feel I must give the credit, where credit is due.  Jim’s APBA Barn, the name and the photo-image, came to be, thanks to a nearby (about 20 miles south of where I live) business called “Jim’s Apple Farm” in Jordan, MN (just off of HWY 169, south of Shakopee as you head towards Mankato from Minneapolis).  Jim’s Apple Farm has the yellow barn, and is also referred to as “Minnesota’s Largest Candy Store”.  This is not just any candy store.  Nor do they just sell candy.  The store sells everything from sweets to different salsas, popcorn, beef jerky, sausages, bottled soda (yes, you can even purchase a “Dad’s Root Beer”),

dadsrootbeer

fudge (maple fudge, peanut butter fudge, etc), taffy, the list goes on and on.  The candy for sale includes many of the candies you would have grown up with as a kid in the 50’s, 60’s, 70’s and 80’s.  Slow-pokes, Mary Janes,

Mary-Jane-candy

Black Jack Gum, etc.  If you need a new spicy mango salsa for your Tostitos, this store will have what you are looking for.  Bacon lovers, you too will leave the store satisfied …

c. www.Picklestravel.com

Inside Jim’s Apple Farm barn, The Bacon Shoppe:

jim-s-apple-farm_bacon_soda

Local Minnesota businesses supply much of the “small town” labels you will find in the store.  To make a long story short, since Jim’s Apple Farm in southern Minnesota happened to be a favorite stop of mine (my wife, kids and I make a stop and purchase here every summer), and my name is Jim, why not call my new APBA blog site, “Jim’s APBA Barn”.  I do plan to replace the Jim’s Apple Farm image with my own image.  In the meantime, if you are passing through southern Minnesota, plan to make an “in-season” stop at Jim’s Apple Farm (it is open mid-June through the end of October).

jim-s-apple-farm_open_sign

For more information, click on the link below:

jimsapplefarm

http://heavytable.com/minnesotas-largest-candy-store/

 

One thought on “The story behind the ‘barn …

  1. Three Words: Carbonated – Bacon – Grease

    Someone is a Genius and I might add: With Chocolate

    You can’t do that with Baking Soda can you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

